2017 Municipal Election Candidates

The 2017 Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, March 7, 2017. For general information about the election (polling place locations, absentee and early voting procedures, etc.), please click here. Below is a list of all candidates for office in the 2017 municipal election.

The deadline for official write-in candidates was January 17; W. Va. state law does not permit the counting of election day write-in votes. In uncontesed races, the incumbents will automatically be elected to new terms.

Van Broughton (incumbent)

Sam Barbagallo Jr. (write-in challenger)

First Ward
Robert Chenoweth (challenger)

Rhett Dusenbury (incumbent)

Joyce Johns (challenger)

Merllene Yorkey (challenger)

Second Ward
Charles H. Friddle, III (incumbent; unopposed)

Third Ward
Carman Metheny (incumbent; unopposed)

Fourth Ward
Marly Hazen (unopposed)

Fifth Ward
Robert L. Chewning Jr. (challenger)

Howard Knapp Jr. (challenger)

David C. Parker (incumbent)

Cody H. Thompson (challenger)

Jeanie Weese (challenger)

note- Clayton D. Moore has withdrawn as a candidate for the Fifth Ward council seat as of February 10, 2017. However, as the ballots have already been printed, his name will still appear.