Elkins Sanitary Board

Last modified on August 15th, 2022 at 11:54 am

The management, control, and operation of the Elkins Public Wastewater System is vested in the Elkins Sanitary Board. (Read the relevant section of city code here.)

The sanitary board consists of three members, one of which must by law be the mayor. The other two members must be Elkins residents. Sanitary board members are appointed by the Elkins council to three-year terms; members are paid $75 per month.

The sanitary board collaborates with city council in establishing rates and planning and securing funds for capital projects. Council is ultimately responsible for setting rates, issuing bonds, and similar matters.

Funding for the wastewater system, as for other utilities, is strictly regulated. Click here to learn more about the restrictions that apply.

Board Members

Current sanitary board members are:

  • Jerry Marco (as/while mayor of Elkins)
  • Vic White (term ends December 31, 2023)
  • Randall Biller (term ends December 31, 2021)

The sanitary board is supported by the following non-voting members:

  • Melody Himes (recording secretary)
  • Tracy Judy (treasurer)

Board Meetings

The regular meetings of the Elkins Sanitary Board are on third Mondays at 2 p.m. in the council chamber at Elkins City Hall. The board may also hold special meetings with two days’ notice when needed. Legally mandated meeting notices are posted in the kiosk in front of city hall. As a convenience, meeting times and agendas for this and other boards, commissions, and committees are also posted on this page.

Elkins Public Wastewater System

The Elkins wastewater system consists of the the network of pipes that collect wastewater from homes, businesses, and other buildings (the Wastewater Collection System), and the Wastewater Treatment Plant, which cleans wastewater collected from customer sewage and wastewater discharge. The Elkins wastewater utility directly serves customers both inside and outside city limits.

The Elkins wastewater system is managed and overseen on a daily basis by the chief operator.

Wastewater System Chief Operator
Whitney Hymes (Class IV Wastewater Operator)
Email: whymes@cityofelkinswv.com
Phone: (304) 636-1122
Location: Wastewater Treatment Plant (next to Riverbend Park)
Mailing address: 401 Davis Avenue, Elkins, WV, 26241

Learn more about the wastewater treatment plant here.

The Wastewater Collection Department performs installation and repair of pipes and related equipment used to carry potable water to customers.

Wastewater Collection Department Supervisor
Mark Hartley
Email: mhartley@cityofelkinswv.com
Phone: Phone: (304) 636-2058
Location: 31 Jones Drive, Elkins, WV, 26241
Mailing address: 401 Davis Avenue, Elkins, WV, 26241

Learn more about the Wastewater Collection Department here.

For More Information

Operations Assistant
Melody Himes
Phone: 304-636-1414, Ext. 1433
Fax: 304-635-7132
401 Davis Avenue, Elkins, WV, 26241

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Stay up to date with the latest news and alerts by signing up for our newsletter!

You have Successfully Subscribed!